Check Who Has Access to Your Google Drive Files

Check Who Has Access to Your Google Drive Files

If you’ve shared Google Drive files with a bunch of individuals , it are often easy to forget who exactly has access to which files.
Google Drive makes it very easy to share files with others, and it’s even as easy to ascertain who can access your documents. If you would like to double-check who has access to your files—or who could also be peeking in without permission—you can easily see the list of users who can check out your files.
To check the list of individuals who can see your file, right-click the enter question and click on Share.

Selecting the Share option in Google Drive
A window will appear showing you all the people that have access to your file. If you haven’t shared it with anyone, you will only see yourself on the list.

If people have access to the file, you will see their name, email address, and what level of permission they need on this list.

The permissions list in Google Drive
How to Add, Edit, and take away Permissions

If something doesn’t look right within the list of users, you’ll use this window to feature , edit, or remove permissions.

How to Add Someone to the Permissions List


If the person you would like to share the file with isn’t on the list, you would like to feature them first. to feature someone, click within the text field at the highest that says Add people and groups.
Here, you’ll type within the name of somebody in your Google account’s contact list. If they are not in there, enter their email instead.

Entering someones email for sharing
Alternatively, you’ll click Change under the section titled Get link, then set the permissions to Anyone with the link. Then, click Copy link and send the link to those you would like to share the file with.

Sharing a link on Google Drive


If you would like to transfer files from one Google Drive account to the opposite you’ll add your other Google account using this window for a neater time.

How to Edit and take away Someone’s Permissions


If someone has an excessive amount of or insufficient control over a file, click the permission name on the proper of their name.

Modifying permissions in Google Drive


Here, you’ll select from a couple of roles. Viewers make the document view-only for that person, commenter allows the user to form comments, and therefore the editor role gives the user the power to vary the content within.

You can also surrender ownership of the file to someone, but beware; once they’re the owner, they will kick you out of the permissions!

If someone is peeking into a file that they shouldn’t see, you’ll also use this menu and click on Remove. once you do that the chosen user can not access the file.

Making Collaboration Easy With Google Drive


Google Drive makes it easy to figure with people on your projects. Now you recognize the way to invite people to share your file, also as the way to edit and take away their permissions.

If you would like to urge even more use out of Google Drive, make certain to see our tips for managing shared files.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.